Planted thank and shrimp first attempt

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by furjee, Feb 28, 2018.

1. furjee

furjee

Good day guys ,

Need some help here .

This is my first attempt at a tank in general and i have some issues and questions that i need some help with
    IMG_20180120_174644.jpg

Currently im having some issues wit my water temp , some days the water can get up to 31 depending on the weather but it averages around 28 -29 . what can i do do bring the temp down , i read that if you want to keep shrimp you need the water temp to be around 23-27 .

when i acquired the plants some how snails got in the tank and because of no netflix there is around 50 small ones in the tank (newborns i think) if i get loaches will they be able to rid the tank from snails?
    IMG_20180207_203000.jpg

I planted grass but for some reason the grass desoved (no idea how to explain it but now im stuck with this around the tank)
    IMG_20180207_202918.jpg

what type of plant can i get to make a carpet on the floor of the thank as i do want to get shrimp on a later stage .

Thanks for the help :)

2. Guest

3. WadeSmith

WadeSmith

@furjee On the temp problem that you are having, one thing you can do is drill a large enough hole in the lid to fit a fan(something like a computer fan) to extract some of the heat out. This will also cause more evaporation in the tank. But not many people are willing to just drill a hole into their tank lid when it comes to tanks like yours. I wouldnt personally do it, but its a suggestion. Hopefully someone else can give you a better way of reducing heat.