Seachem Tidal HOB Filters

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews' started by FMN716, Dec 20, 2019.

  1. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    Unfortunately this is not possible

    The water comes into the media area from the top of the unit and is forced down under the media basket

    see pic below

    [​IMG]

    Area in red square is where the water is forced to go under the media basket

    [​IMG]

    If you take out the basket the water will not filter at all

    Not a bad idea thou if it was possible
     
  2. Guest




  3. fux940510

    fux940510

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Strubens Valley
    Duh...blonde moment, apologies.

    Could you not cut away most of the basket then, leaving just the channel, then use that blue retention clip to keep that channel in place?
     
  4. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    haha no stress can be a bit difficult to visualize without seeing it, the most modifying the bucket I would ever go is drilling the bucket and sealing the bottom of the intake tube like I have done.

    But thanks for the input
     
  5. fux940510

    fux940510

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Strubens Valley
    I have a Tidal 55, which i mucked around with a little bit when i first got it and i clean forgot about how the water flows :rolleyes:
     
  6. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    Exactly that’s what I am gonna do. Just leave it to be and lesson learnt. Canister or sump is the way to go


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. RamGeek

    RamGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi,

    Quick question.

    Would a tidal 110 be over kill for a 3ft tank (115L)? it currently has a few blue rams and some plants. Which would you take the 55, 75 or 110?
     
  8. WernerP

    WernerP

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Mondeor in Johannesburg, Gauteng.
    I think so. Way too much flow. You could dial it lower, but that would be like only driving your car in first gear.
     
  9. fux940510

    fux940510

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Strubens Valley
    Most definitely overkill. The 55 should be good
     
  10. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    get the tidal 75 the tidal 110 is massive.

    Just make sure you dont damage your tank
     
  11. CharlZA

    CharlZA Conductor of the poop train

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Centurion
    I will take pictures when I get home, but I use my Seachem Tidal as a purely mechanical filter. While my canister filter is doing the biological side of things. I found that packing it too much with too much biological media tends to make it bypass quicker. Also, I cut custom sponges and arranged them from coarse, fine and finest.

    You just need to keep experimenting with filter media till you get the correct balance that works for you.
     
  12. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    To be honest I am going marine. So I am actually selling this one


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. CharlZA

    CharlZA Conductor of the poop train

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Centurion
    I have actually seen Marine tanks running these filters as just biological filters the remove the basket and just fill it with biological media.
     
  14. Riaan1984

    Riaan1984

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Now come a stupid question. Someone mentioned that a canister filter is double the price of the hob. So is it realy worth buying a R1000 hob filter and spending time and money modifieing it wher it now is a possible cause of the damage and loss wouldn't a canister just be easier and cheaper
     
  15. OP
    FMN716

    FMN716 Back in the GAME!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Edenvale, JHB
    Nice thing about these they don’t leak. Motor won’t run dry. Adjustable flow. And don’t need priming


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. CharlZA

    CharlZA Conductor of the poop train

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Centurion
    You don't need to modify it at all, I use mine straight out of the box. You just need to find a balance between what filtration medium you use and what combination works for you.

    What makes them so great is how you can modify them. But all that is optional.

    Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
     
    Innocent159 likes this.

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Seachem Tidal Filters Forum Date
Seachem Tidal Hang On Filters Almost Here !! Dorry Pets Feb 2, 2017
Wanted: Seachem Tidal 55 or 75 Wanted/Swop/Freebies Sep 11, 2019
Seachem Tidal 55 Filtration Jun 22, 2019
Seachem Tidal 55 General Equipment discussion Sep 7, 2018
Seachem tidal 110 General Equipment discussion Jul 10, 2017
Shrimp safe Seachem Tidal filter Species Tanks Jun 26, 2017
Shrimp safe Seachem Tidal HOB Community Tanks Jun 26, 2017

Share This Page