Water Changes: Straight from the hose?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Dolphinfriendly, Nov 4, 2016.

1. Dolphinfriendly

Dolphinfriendly

Hi all,

I have been keeping Julidochromis Regani in my 3 ft for about 2 months now. I am finding it annoying lugging buckets to and from the bathroom to Do water changes and I've seen a good deal of fishkeepers adding their new water for water changes directly from the garden hose. As my water is so soft, I add cichlids salts.

If i dosed the required decholrinator and salts into the tank and then piped the new water in via the hose would it stress the fish?

Thanks for your input,
    Rory

2. Guest

3. Reedfish

Reedfish Moderator

I prefer the bucket method.

I try to match the water parameters to my tank before it goes in.

4. JvH

JvH aka FishBait

Hey Rory. I hear you, the bucket brigade can be very annoying, and when it comes to bigger tanks it is downright back-breaking.
    If you go the hose from tap route Id recommend using Prime. You need to dose for the full volume of your tank, not just the water that you're replacing. Essentially my Prime lasts me half as long by doing it this way, but in my mind it's an acceptable compromise. Be sure to add the full dose of Prime to the tank before tapping the new water in.

In terms of the cichlid salts, I once dry dosed by adding a few pinches of the salts by hand, letting it slowly dissolve from between my fingers. Noticed that the salts seem to have an immediate reaction with the water, started heating up between my fingers! Long story short, I'd not recommend dry dosing this stuff, or adding it rapidly in too concentrated a form. Just my experience

5. Chris_H

Chris_H Discus for Life